IHSPA Announces 2022 Hoosier Stars

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


September 26, 2022

The Indiana High School Press Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2022 Hoosier Star Award.

IHSPA provides this opportunity for annual critique as a way for staffs to gain detailed feedback about their publication. Because our judges are able to provide specific comments on a number of important topics, student media staffs can use this evaluation as a way to measure progress, discuss strengths and weaknesses and set goals for improvement. Staffs are encouraged to use this in planning and production.

All student media outlets achieving a “superior” or “excellent” ranking based on these guidebooks are considered finalists in the competition. Winners of the Hoosier Star Award are selected in a second round of evaluation by a judge not involved in the initial round of critiques.

Division I Winners

(under 1,000 enrollment)

Logue Yearbook — NorthWood HS

Paolite Newspaper — Paoli Jr-Sr HS

Totem Yearbook — Scottsburg HS


Division II Winners

(1,000-2,000 enrollment)

The Triangle Newspaper — Columbus North HS

Log Yearbook — Columbus North HS

The Bagpiper Newspaper — Floyd Central HS

Timberlines Newspaper — Greenwood Community HS

Magpie Website — Logansport HS

Crier Newspaper — Munster HS

Paragon Yearbook — Munster HS

The Scrapbook Yearbook — Westfield MS


Division III Winners

(above 2,000 enrollment)

HiLite Newspaper — Carmel HS

HiLite Website — Carmel HS

Pinnacle Yearbook — Carmel HS

Trojaneer Website — Center Grove HS

NHS News Broadcast — Noblesville HS

Comet Newspaper — Lake Central HS

Echo Yearbook — Lake Central HS

The Journal Newspaper — Southport HS

Anchor Yearbook — Southport HS

Harbinger Newspaper — Zionsville Community HS

Aerie Yearbook — Zionsville Community HS


Congratulations to all of our schools! We hope you can join us for the state convention at Franklin College Friday, Jan. 27 to celebrate your accomplishments. Everyone at IHSPA is excited to see the amazing work submitted for this year’s Hoosier Star Student Media Evaluation Service.

For more information:

Hoosier Star Student Media Evaluation Service

Leave a Reply