Rowena Harvey Awards

Click here for full contest categories and descriptions.

• Entry deadline is Sept. 15.

• Submissions must have been published during the previous school year.

The Rowena Harvey Award competition is held annually and celebrates outstanding individual and staff achievements in responsible, effective journalism. Those earning this honor personify the devotion and dedication of the late Rowena Harvey, past president of the Indiana High School Press Association and adviser of student publications at Fort Wayne South Side High School for 40 years.

All entries should have been distributed via print, web, or broadcast student media before the contest deadline and submitted on the Better BNC website. All submissions must have been published during the previous school year, and work that does not follow individual contest guidelines will be disqualified. The contest entry fee is $5 for member schools and $10 for non-members. Schools will be invoiced by IHSPA after the submission deadline. Please select the image on the right for more information about submission requirements and contest categories.

Questions? Contact

Contest Results

2009    2010    2011    2012    2013    2014    2015

2016    2017    2018    2019    • 2020    • 2021    2022


The Sampler: First-Place Work

2017     • 2018     • 2019     • 2020