Fall Convention

The IHSPA fall convention is an event held annually on the Franklin College campus that gathers high school journalism students and advisers from across Indiana.

The day begins with a keynote presentation focusing on the issues currently relevant to scholastic journalism, with previous speakers ranging from celebrated educators to Pulitzer Prize winners. It is immediately followed by a ceremony to name the Hoosier Star, Harvey and Ella Sengenberger Adviser of the Year award winners. For the remainder of the day, students attend a variety of journalism classes related to their activities within student media, and advisers participate in a membership meeting/luncheon that features professional development, personal celebrations and recognition of the Dr. Louis Ingelhart Friend of the High School Press and Indiana Administrator of the Year award winners.

For information on how to get involved, please refer to Membership Information or Forms Central within this site. Ready to register? Do so here: State Convention Registration

2019: Oct. 18
2020: Oct. 23
2021: TBD

Further questions can be directed to IHSPA Executive Director Ryan Gunterman at rgunterman@franklincollege.edu.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: