IHSPA announces spring honorees

Munster High School, 2023 David Adams Hall of Fame Inductee


May 17, 2023

The Indiana High School Press Association is honored to recognize Munster High School as the inaugural inductee to the David Adams Hall of Fame. Named after former IU Student Media Director and fierce student rights advocate David Adams, this honor annually recognizes one school that promotes and protects First Amendment freedoms within the school and community.

The judge for this year’s hall of fame class was Ruth Witmer, editorial adviser for IU Student Media and longtime colleague of David Adams. Witmer said she was impressed with Munster’s commitment to issues close to Adams’ heart — the First Amendment, press freedom, media law and ethics and having the student voice front and center.

“The degree to which Munster is tackling the kinds of stories that would need advice from the SPLC, an organization where Adams served, is in itself striking,” Witmer wrote in her evaluation. “The students in Munster are covering stories on mental health, race, sexual assault, gun violence, free speech and more. These students at the Crier and Paragon fully embrace the responsibilities and challenges of covering their community.”

Witmer also appreciated how Munster adviser Sarah-Anne Lanman, MJE included a letter of support from former Munster adviser Nancy Hastings, who knew Adams for many years prior to his death in 2007. This evidence outlined how both advisers built, and maintained, a strong tradition of supporting students throughout their combined 48 years of advising.

“It’s been maintained by holding fast to the things that make media organizations strong, trusted and indispensable: independence, integrity, fairness, attention to stakeholders, accuracy and courage in seeking and reporting the truth in storytelling,” Witmer wrote. “Dave Adams, this honor’s namesake, would be proud of the student media program at Munster High School.”

As the 2023 inductee, Munster will receive $250 for its student media department, plaques for the school’s main office and journalism classroom, and permanent recognition on the IHSPA website.

Also being recognized are the winners of the sports journalism, First Amendment design, and SPJ/JEA essay contests. The following individuals will receive a certificate and cash prize from IHSPA.

SPORTS JOURNALISM AWARD (winner: $150 • second: $100 • third: $50)
• First Place — Claire Steinbrook, Southport High School

• Second Place — Logan Connor, Greenwood Community High School

• Third Place — Cameron Harris, Warren Central High School

FIRST AMENDMENT DESIGN CONTEST (winner: $150 • second: $100 • third: $50)
• First Place — Brooklyn Brown, Zionsville Community High School

• Second Place — Devyn Hansen, Creekside Middle School

• Third Place — Kate Newitt, Greenwood Community High School

Annie Green, Columbus North High School

Rachel McDonald, Greenwood Community High School

Schools wishing to submit content for the 2024 David Adams Hall of Fame and spring contests should click here for more information.

Finally, IHSPA is proud to announce the Diana Hadley Honor Roll class of 2023. Named after former IHSPA executive director Diana Hadleythis annual recognition is presented to individuals who have displayed journalistic excellence while adhering to the IHSPA core values of truth, courage, integrity, and freedom throughout the school year. Every Indiana student media outlet may nominate someone for the Diana Hadley Honor Roll by completing the nomination form before May 1 of each school year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For more information about these honors, please email

Leave a Reply