IHSPA announces latest Hoosier Star winners

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Oct. 2, 2020

The Indiana High School Press Association is proud to announce the winners of the 2020 Hoosier Star Award.

IHSPA provides this opportunity for annual critique as a way for staffs to gain detailed feedback about their publication. Because our judges are able to provide specific comments on a number of important topics, student media staffs can use this evaluation as a way to measure progress, discuss strengths and weaknesses and set goals for improvement. Staffs are encouraged to use this in planning and production.

All student media outlets achieving a “superior” or “excellent” ranking based on these guidebooks are considered finalists in the newspaper and yearbook competitions. Winners of the Hoosier Star Award are selected in a second round of judging.

Yearbook Hoosier Star Winners

Division I (under 1,000 enrollment)

NorthWood HS – Logue
Scottsburg HS – Totem

Division II (1,000-2,000 enrollment)

Greenwood Community HS – The Woodman
Munster HS – Paragon
Plainfield HS – Silhouettes
Westfield MS – The Scrapbook

Division III (above 2,000 enrollment)

Carmel HS – Pinnacle
Columbus North HS – Log
Crown Point HS – Excalibur
Lake Central HS – Quiver
Pike HS – Pike’s Peek
Southport HS – Anchor

Newspaper Hoosier Star Winners

Division I (under 1,000 enrollment)

Paoli Jr-Sr HS – Paolite

Division II (1,000-2,000 enrollment)

Floyd Central HS – The Bagpiper
Greenwood Community HS – Timberlines
Munster HS – Crier
New Albany HS – The Blotter
Plainfield HS – Quaker Shaker

Division III (above 2,000 enrollment)

Carmel HS – HiLite
Columbus North HS – The Triangle
Lake Central HS – Scout
Lawrence North HS – North Star
Southport HS – The Journal
Zionsville Community HS – Harbinger

Congratulations to all of our schools! We can’t wait to see the amazing work submitted for this year’s Hoosier Star Student Media Evaluation Service.

For more information:

Hoosier Star Student Media Evaluation Service

Leave a Reply