Finalists, winners revealed for 2020 spring awards

Illustration by 2020 First Amendment design contest finalist Daylen Byrd, Pike HS


February 21, 2020

The Indiana High School Press Association is proud to announce the 2020 finalists for the David Adams Award and First Amendment design contest. Winners earn a $100 prize and second place receives $50.

*Finalists are listed in alphabetical order and do not reflect final contest results.*

Indiana High School Journalist of the Year:

The winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship from IHSPA and represent the state in the national competition. The national winner will be announced during the spring convention in Nashville, April 16-18.

Salomé Cloteaux
Columbus North HS

Haley Miller
Southport HS

Nathan Miller
Avon HS

Ethan Moore
Zionsville Community HS

First Amendment Design Contest:

Daylen Byrd
Pike HS

Anna Kelley
Columbus North HS

David Adams Award:

The Optimist
Bloomington HS South

Greenwood Community HS

IHSPA is also excited to recognize the state-level winners of the SPJ/JEA Essay Contest. These three students will receive a $50 award and their work has been submitted to the national essay competition.

Illustration by 2020 First Amendment design contest finalist Anna Kelley, Columbus North HS

SPJ/JEA Essay Contest Indiana winners:

Avraham Forrest
Greenwood Community HS

Eric Reingardt
Greenwood Community HS

Victor Song
R. Nelson Snider HS

All students and schools will be recognized, and the 2020 award winners will be named, during the IHSPA First Amendment Symposium Tuesday, March 10 at 10:30 a.m. EST in the south atrium of the Indiana Statehouse.

For more information, please contact:

Ryan Gunterman
Executive Director
Indiana High School Press Association

101 Branigin Blvd.
Franklin College
Shirk Hall 022
Franklin, Indiana 46131
Phone: 317-738-8199

Leave a Reply