Another reminder to review JOY guidelines

By Ryan Gunterman
IHSPA Executive Director

This is just another friendly reminder to review the JEA Journalist of the Year Scholarships page and follow this rubric while constructing the digital portfolio.

This contest rewards those who produce work of high quality in a variety of storytelling platforms, and students may view portfolios from previous national winners and finalists for examples of what their own work should look like. As you can see, those who produce a diverse range of content are the strongest candidates, so please encourage your nominee to provide multiple examples from print, video, AND web if possible.

Important information:

  • Indiana entries due to by end of the day Feb. 1.
  • Finalists announced Feb 24.
  • Finalists recognized and winner announced during the First Amendment Symposium March 10 at the Indiana Statehouse.
  • Contest nominees MUST be from a JEA member school.

The winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship from IHSPA and be entered in the national contest. National finalists and the winner will be announced at the JEA/NSPA spring national convention in Nashville April 16-18.

As always, please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.

Leave a Reply