IHSPA makes changes to Harvey Awards

2019 IHSPA Harvey Award Contest Categories

IHSPA is excited to announce the opening of the 2019 Harvey Award competition and the following contest changes:

-We will no longer have separate contest sites for newspaper and yearbook Harvey entries. There is only one website for ALL submissions, regardless of student publication format, and it can be found here: Select “2019 IHSPA Harvey Awards” to enter material.

-Each student media outlet now has its own username. Information about logging in has been emailed to the IHSPA adviser list, but contact Ryan Gunterman at if you did not receive that message or need to register your publication for the contest website.

-Unless specified within individual contest instructions, each student media outlet may enter student work for ALL categories. Submissions will be judged based on category guidelines and the Indiana academic standards for journalism and student media.

-Many of the yearbook coverage and newspaper writing categories have been revised to allow other student media outlets to participate. Contests for writing portfolio, design portfolio and portrait photography are also new for 2019. Please review the full list for complete details: 2019 Harvey Award Contest Categories

-The submission deadline is now Sept. 15, 2019 for ALL student media outlets. Each entry is still $5, and participants will be invoiced for this fee following the submission deadline.

The award winners will be announced at the IHSPA State Convention at Franklin College Friday, Oct. 18. Good luck to everyone!

Leave a Reply