Awards, Conventions

Newspaper Hoosier Star finalists named for 2018

The 2018 newspaper Hoosier Star finalists feature 23 schools from three divisions according to school enrollment. All finalists will undergo an additional round of judging to determine the overall contest winners, which will be announced Friday, Oct. 19 during the 2018 state convention at Franklin College.

The Indiana High School Press Association is proud to announce the finalists for the newspaper Hoosier Star Award. All newspapers earning a “superior” or “excellent” ranking based on this guidebook are considered finalists in the IHSPA Hoosier Star competition.

IHSPA provides this opportunity for annual critique as a way for staffs to gain detailed feedback about their newspaper. Because our judges are able to provide specific comments on a number of important topics, students can use this evaluation as a way to measure progress, discuss strengths and weaknesses and set goals for improvement. Staffs are encouraged to use this in planning and revising their publication for the following school year.

Newspaper Hoosier Star Finalists* 
Division I (under 1,000 enrollment)
Bishop Chatard HS – Trojan Matters
Paoli Jr-Sr HS – Paolite
Scottsburg HS – The Booster

Division II (1,000-2,000 enrollment)
Cathedral HS – The Megaphone
Floyd Central HS – The Bagpiper
Greenwood Community HS – Timberlines
Mooresville HS – The Pulse
Munster HS – Crier
Plainfield HS – Quaker Shaker
Richmond HS – Register
Roncalli HS – Rebel Review
Zionsville Community HS – Harbinger

Division III (above 2,000 enrollment)
Carmel HS – HiLite
Center Grove HS – Trojaneer
Chesterton HS – Sandscript
Columbus North HS – The Triangle
Crown Point HS – Inklings
Fishers HS – Tiger Topics: N the Red
Jeffersonville HS – The Hyphen
Lake Central HS – Scout
Lawrence Central HS – Cub Reporter
Lawrence North HS – North Star
Noblesville HS – Mill Stream
Southport HS – The Journal

*Finalists are listed in alphabetical order by school name and do not indicate contest ranking.

A separate judge evaluates all finalists to determine winners, which are announced each fall during the morning awards ceremony at the state high school journalism convention Oct. 19 at Franklin College. Newspapers earning Hoosier Star status are consistent with the IHSPA core values of truth, courage, integrity and freedom.

Those schools interested in submitting a newspaper for next year’s critique may access the entry form here.

For more information, please contact IHSPA Executive Director Ryan Gunterman at

Leave a Reply