Awards, Conventions

Yearbook Hoosier Star finalists named for 2018

The 2018 yearbook Hoosier Star finalists feature 20 schools from three divisions according to school enrollment. All finalists will undergo an additional round of judging to determine the overall contest winners, which will be announced Friday, Oct. 19 during the 2018 state convention at Franklin College.

The Indiana High School Press Association is proud to announce the finalists for the yearbook Hoosier Star Award.

IHSPA provides this opportunity for annual critique as a way for staffs to gain detailed feedback about their yearbook. Because our judges are able to provide specific comments on a number of important topics, yearbook staffs can use this evaluation as a way to measure progress, discuss strengths and weaknesses and set goals for improvement. Staffs are encouraged to use this in planning their next publication.

All books achieving “superior” or “excellent” ranking based on this guidebook are considered finalists in the IHSPA Hoosier Star competition and will be recognized Oct. 19 at Franklin College during the 2018 state convention.

Yearbook Hoosier Star Finalists* 
Division I (under 1,000 enrollment)
Bishop Chatard HS – Citadel
NorthWood HS – Logue
Paoli Jr-Sr HS – Hillcrest
Scottsburg HS – Totem

Division II (1,000-2,000 enrollment)
Cathedral HS – Cathedran
Mooresville HS – Wagon Trails
Munster HS – Paragon
New Albany HS – Vista
Plainfield HS – Silhouettes
Richmond HS – Pierian

Division III (above 2,000 enrollment)
Carmel HS – Pinnacle
Center Grove HS – Trojan
Columbus North HS – Log
Crown Point HS – Excalibur
Fishers HS – Tiger Tracks
Lake Central HS – Quiver
Noblesville HS – Shadow
North Central HS – The Northerner
Pike HS – Pike’s Peek
Southport HS – Anchor
Westfield HS – The Shamrocket

*Finalists are listed in alphabetical order by school name and do not indicate contest ranking.

A separate judge evaluates all Finalists to determine winners, which are announced each fall during the morning awards ceremony at the IHSPA state convention. Books earning Hoosier Star status are consistent with the IHSPA core values of truth, courage, integrity and freedom.

Those schools interested in submitting a yearbook for next year’s critique may access the entry form here.

For more information, please contact IHSPA Executive Director Ryan Gunterman at

1 thought on “Yearbook Hoosier Star finalists named for 2018”

Leave a Reply