Events, Symposium

Symposium celebrates value of Hoosier journalism

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos by Clark Hadley

The Indiana High School Press Association held its annual First Amendment Symposium at the Indiana Statehouse yesterday, celebrating the state’s best in scholastic and professional journalism. The event emphasized journalism’s continued value in society with featured presentations from IHSPA Student Board members and Indianapolis Star Investigative Reporter Marisa Kwiatowski. Several awards were also given during the program, concluding with the announcement of Southport senior Andrew Tapp as the state’s 2018 high school journalist of the year.

Here is the full list of those recognized at the 2018 Symposium:

Journalist of the Year Finalists
Audrey Gacsy – Inklings newspaper co-editor-in-chief, Crown Point High School
Andrea John – Inklings newspaper co-editor-in-chief, Crown Point High School
Jared Rigdon – North Star newspaper editor-in-chief, Lawrence North High School
Claire Rightley – The Avon Echo newspaper editor-in-chief, Avon High School
Andrew Tapp – The Journal newspaper editor-in-chief, Southport High School

Indiana High School Journalist of the Year
Andrew Tapp – The Journal newspaper editor-in-chief, Southport High School

Mid-Year Sports Contest
Winner: Jared Rigdon and Keelen Barlow, Lawrence North High School
Runner-up: Hannah Nguyen, Fishers High School

Essay Contest
Winner: Anna Lowe, Greenwood Community High School
Runner-Up: Ethan Dyer, Greenwood Community High School

First Amendment Graphic Design Contest (click on name to view submission)
Winner: Hailey Boger, Southport High School
Runner-up: Courtney Eby, NorthWood High School

For more information, please contact IHSPA Executive Director Ryan Gunterman at

Leave a Reply