Archive, Members, Symposium

First Amendment Symposium

(Click on photos above for full photo and caption)

At the First Amendment Symposium on Wednesday, the student journalist of the year finalists were recognized, along with various other award winners.

Carly Lanich and Ashley Shuler–student journalist of the year finalists–were also awarded $1500 scholarships from the Hoosier State Press Association.

David Adams First Amendment Contests First Amendment Reporting:
Maham Nadeem, Carmel High School

Government Reporting:
Maria Pavy, Fishers High School

First Amendment Poster Contest
First: Michelle Roberts, Greenwood High School
Second: Alana Strycker, NorthWood High School
Third: Hannah Edwards, NorthWood High School
Honorable Mention: Karen Tepas, Pike High School
Maureen Langley, Bloomington North High School

Society of Professional Journalists First Amendment Essay Contest:
First: Seth Winstead, Connersville High School
Second: Casey Smith, Southport High School
Third: Madeline Wolf, Greenwood High School
Honorable Mention: Kyle McClarney, Greenwood High School

Sports Stories
First (tie): Carrington Smith, Pike High School
Alaa Aldeldaiem, Crown Point High School
Second: Haley Neligh, Warren Central High School
Third: Drew Nixon, Lawrence Central High School
Honorable Mention: Vrusha Patel, Munster High School

Sports Photography
First: Kyle Crawford, Carmel High School
Second: Alisa Munoz, Munster High School
Third: Haley Crnarich, Portage High School
Marie Joseph, Bishop Chatard High School

Leave a Reply