Archive, Members


More congratulations are in order to the following people:

Congratulations to IHSPA retirees…

A few retirees equal many years of experience in this year’s “graduating class” of IHSPA advisers. 
Literally thousands of students and all of us who have worked with the following people directly or indirectly are grateful for their contribution to scholastic journalism and education in general.
John Hannan will retire from Cathedral High School. His 35 years of experience include 26 at Cathedral and 9 at Cardinal Ritter. 
Janie Norman will retire with 46 years experience at Lafayette Jefferson High School, all but four as a yearbook adviser. 
Before Janie came to Jeff in 1980 she taught at in the Columbus, Ohio, city system and then at Park Hills in Fairborn, Ohio.
Ed Poe, yearbook adviser at Lawrence Central High School, will retire after 35 years in education (33 years at Lawrence Central and two years at Michigan City Elston). 
Ed is a former IHSPA president and recipient of the Ella Sengenberger Award.
Cathy Shoup, a Carmel High School teacher for the past 16 years, has advised publications at Carmel and Warren Central in Indiana and Tridelphia and Wheeling Park in West Virginia.
IHSPA will recognize all four at the  adviser luncheon at the state convention, Oct. 18, 2013.

If there are other retirees or other changes in staff, please report them so that we can update mailing and directory information.
Additional congratulations to…
Sarah Verpooten, Lake Central High School, received the Ball State University Marilyn Weaver Excellence in Journalism Education Award at the annual J-Day event. Sarah has served every IHSPA office through president and continues to support IHSPA in a variety of projects.
Elizabeth Granger, Lawrence Central High School, received the Ball State University Secondary Education Services Hall of Fame Award. Elizabeth was also named Lawrence Central High School’s Teacher of the year for 2013. Elizabeth is currently a member of the IHSPA Board.

Elizabeth Treblin, Seymour High School, and Ericka Herd, Jeffersonville High School, are the recipients of IHSPA/HSPA summer internships. Elizabeth is working at the Bloomington Herald-Times, and Ericka is at Mogul Metroolitan Magazine in Louisville.
Blogs about their internship will appear on the IHSPA website.

Several IHSPA advisers received awards recently. Congratulations to all of them!

Jim Lang, Floyd Central Bagpiper and Bagpiper Online adviser, recently received the New Albany Floyd Central Consolidated School Corporation’s ExCEL award (Excellence in Classroom and Educational Leadership), sponsored by WHAS News.  This award recognizes a public school teacher who exemplifies enthusiasm in teaching methodology; develops meaningful personal relationships with students, parents, colleagues, and community members; models professionalism and citizenry; and commits to continued professional development and enhancement. Jim received a trophy and $1,000 for educational materials.  

Elizabeth Granger has been selected to attend one of the Reynolds High School Journalism Institutes. The intensive two-week journalism training programs for secondary school teachers are hosted by five universities and funded by the Donald W.Reynolds Foundation.  Instruction is based on the core tenets of journalism and the skills needed to produce top-notch student publications, primarily online with multimedia tools. Elizabeth will attend the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism at Arizona State University in Phoenix for or two weeks in June.

Rachel McCarver, Columbus North H.S. media adviser and Nicole Wilson, Carmel H.S. yearbook adviser received MJE certification at the recent JEA convention in San Francisco.

Jim Streisel, Carmel H.S.; Jack Dvorak, Indiana University (retired) and Nancy Hastings, Munster H.S. (retired) all had MJE certification renewed.

Once again, congratulations to all.

Leave a Reply